jump to navigation

Purpose of Us August 4, 2011

Posted by Akash in Experiments with God.
Tags: , ,
trackback

One of the reasons I started this blog is to communicate my idea and beliefs about reality and truth.

In the course of writing a few articles under this category [Experiments with God] I would like to indulge you into my conception of reality.

I do not have any structure in mind for this writing. So a reader might feel lost while going though these articles. But I assure you that the things will make full sense when I finish publishing the whole set of articles on this.

So what this article(s) are about? It’s about a lot of things but it is mainly about our quest to search the Truth. I will be basically discussing a lot of interconnected subjects here like:

  • Faith: God, Religion (Hindu/ Buddhist/ Christian/ Muslim concepts) 
  • Physics: Relativity, Quantum Physics, Lagrangian Mechanics
  • Computer Science: Simulated Reality

And finally I will try to connect them together to form my understanding about the Truth.

In the process, we might also need to discuss verious concepts from some encient Indian texts (e.g. “Gita”, “Veda”, “Advaita Vedanta”) and even concepts from some recent movies like “The Matrix”.

A word of Caution

All the ideas described here are merely my personal opinion that I have mastered through-out the observations and learning in my life. I do not claim that these ideas as unquestionable or absolute or even complete. It’s just what I have come to believe through logical reasoning. 

So let’s start our first discussion on Purpose.

What is the purpose of us (you, me, individual human being, animals, plants, earth and planets and the whole universe in general) to exist? Why we are here in this Universe at all? Why the Universe itself exists? This is the first question that we need to ask in our quest to find the truth (the other question is what “truth” itself is, which we will discuss later).

But my quest for the purpose did not start with this universal question of purpose initially. It started with a simple question – what is the purpose of “me”? Why do “I” exist? When I searched for this answer, I got different views, some of them are not so profound or fundamentally correct. But even though, here are the different views that I have found:

  • My purpose of existence is to serve my God – Spiritual answer mostly from faith driven religions (Inherently ambiguous and open ended)
  • My purpose is to finish a task for which I have been brought into this world – Utterly Ambiguous (what task? Who brought you? What if you don’t complete your task? Why “You” were chosen to complete the task?)
  • My purpose is to create choices (by creating variations) for the natural selection
  • My purpose is fake (may be simulated) and imposed upon me as an illusion (choices are illutionary, causality is truth) – Proponents of Simulated Relaity theory often believe in this
  • No purpose, we are here as a result of systemic jitters, randomness and chances. We (or anything) do not serve a purpose and it does not matter to the universe.

We can start analysing any of the above answers. But each one of them (with the notable exception of the last one) will lead us to more open questions.  Questions like who imposed the “purpose” and “why” and “how” will remain with each one of them. As such there is no answer which is simple enough to be treated as beautifyl truth. But in order to progress further in our quest to seek the truth, we will chose two possibilities from the above choices (heck, I hate this word!).

Let’s concentrate on these two possibilities first (I am not completely rejecting the other possibilities yet, I am just starting off with these two possibilities first partly becuase of their simplicity and largely because of the fact that unlike others, these answers do not lead us to a plethora of other open ended questions) :

  • My purpose is to create choices (by creating variations) for the natural selection (knowingly or unknowingly)
  • No purpose, we are here as a result of systemic jitters, randomness and chances. We (or anything) do not serve a purpose and it does not matter to the universe.

Creation of Choices (to be continued)

 

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment